Wednesday, 12 August 2015

Review: The Island Escape by Kerry Fisher

Can one woman’s marriage survive her best friend’s divorce? Fans of Veronica Henry and Erica James, this is the next book to add to your reading list.
It’s time to get back to where it all began…
Octavia Shelton thought she’d have a different life. One where she travelled the world with an exotic husband and free-spirited children in tow. But things didn’t turn out quite like that.

Married to safe, reliable Jonathan, her life now consists of packed lunches, school runs and more loads of dirty washing than she ever thought possible. She’s not unhappy. It’s just that she can barely recognise herself any longer.

So as Octavia watches her best friend’s marriage break up, it starts her thinking. What if life could be different? What if she could escape and get back to the person she used to be? Escape back to the island where she spent her summers? And what if the man she used to love was there waiting for her…?

Review: this book was a high-octane fast-paced romp of a novel with laughs and tears and everything in between. This book really did have it all, you want infidelity? You got it! You want messy divorces? You got it! You want questions about paternity? You go it! And yet this is nothing like an episode of Jeremy Kyle! No, this is a well woven story of two women, just like many of us out there going through the things that sometimes hit us in this life, just kind of all at once! 

I liked the characters in this book, I have to admit I liked Octavia a lot more because she was sensible and down to earth and knew exactly how to get things done. When she is summoned to get her freind out of jail, she's right there when she has issues in her own love life, she gets on a sorts it. She owns her own business, she takes care of her friends and family and in this novel, she realises that she needs time for herself as well-I loved it. The men in this novel are wholly unlikeable and jump to all sorts of silly conclusions but I loved reading about them and loved to hate them!

Despite all the things that do happen in this book, it didn't feel like a long drag at any point, it is fast paced because things are starting to sort themselves out and then something else hits these two women, one or other or both of them have something else on their plate to deal with, it's amazing what is thrown at them and how they manage to cope with it. There are moments where the whining goes on a little much for my liking,but on the whole it's a really great read with some humour and some sex and just enough of both to keep everything flowing nicely! 


  1. Oh sounds like an easy summer read. Thank you for sharing. I've added this to my Goodreads 'to read' list. X

    1. Once you start, you won't be able to stop, such a good summer read! I'm sure you'll enjoy it x