Saturday, 5 October 2019

Guest Review: The Mykonos Mob By Jeffrey Siger

When corruption lies deep beneath the surface, how can the truth come to light?
The case begins for Athens' Chief Inspector Andreas Kaldis with a literal bang when a corrupt former police colonel who runs a protection racket on Mykonos is gunned down. Suddenly, Athens' Chief Inspector Andreas Kaldis is face-to-face with Greece's top crime bosses on an island whose natural beauty and reputation as an international playground belies the corruption lurking just beneath the surface.
While Andreas and his Special Crimes unit wrestle for answers, Andreas's wife, Lila, meets an American expat named Toni, a finder of stolen goods and a piano player in a gender-bending bar who has a zest for life and no apparent regard for rules. As Lila and Toni bond over a common desire to mentor young island girls trapped in an exploitative and patriarchal culture, they soon find that their efforts to improve the lives of the Greek girls they've come to care about intersect with Andreas' investigation in ways that prove to be dangerous for all involved...
The Mykonos Mob is a thrilling police procedural, perfect for readers of Martin Walker and Donna Leon!


Review: This is the tenth book in the Andreas Kaldis mystery novel series by the author Jeffrey Siger, an American who divides his time between Greece and the USA. This is the first of the series that I have read, and I found it to be a fast-paced crime thriller that held my attention throughout.

Andreas Kaldis is a Chief Inspector in the Special Crimes Unit of the Greek Police, based in Athens. The story begins with the murder of a former Police Colonel outside a restaurant in Athens. However, there appear to be links to organised crime and corruption on the Greek holiday destination of Mykonos, one of the Cyclades Islands in the Aegean Sea. Hence, most of the book is set on Mykonos where Andreas, and his right-hand man Detective Yianni Kouros, investigate the seamier side of life on the island.

The book does not shy away from the darker side of the tourist hotspots, and there are reflections on the current state of Greek politics. However, it is the natural beauty of the island of Mykonos itself that is strongly featured in the book, making me wish I had a glass of chilled retsina on a terrace overlooking a pristine beach with the turquoise sea lapping at its edge.

So, where will the Police Officers' investigations lead them and will they be able to track down who was behind the murder? You'll have to read to the thrilling climax to find out.


To order your copy now, just click the link: UK or US

No comments:

Post a comment