Thursday, 14 February 2019

Guest Review: Maybe This Time by Jill Mansell

Heartwarming and joyful - the brand new romantic comedy from the Sunday Times bestselling author of THIS COULD CHANGE EVERYTHING. An irresistible read for fans of Lucy Diamond and Katie Fforde.
'Mansell has delivered another winner with this compelling, thoughtful, emotionally intelligent book about love, friendship and not giving up' Daily Mail
Mimi isn't looking for love when she spends a weekend in Goosebrook, the Cotswolds village her dad has moved to. And her first encounter with Cal, who lives there too, is nothing like a scene in a romantic movie - although she can't help noticing how charismatic he is. But Cal's in no position to be any more than a friend, and Mimi heads back to her busy London life.
When they meet again four years later, it's still not to be. Cal is focusing on his family, and Mimi on her career. Then Cal dives into a potentially perfect new romance whilst Mimi's busy fixing other people's relationships.
It seems as if something, or someone else, always gets in their way. Will it ever be the right time for both of them?





Review: It’s always lovely to find a new book by Jill Mansell. I bought the audiobook of this one on publication day and have finished it in quick time. As usual with this author’s books, I found myself instantly immersed in the world of its characters and eager to move from chapter to chapter. 

The story revolves around Mimi, who is working very successfully in PR, sharing a flat in London with a long-time friend and dating her boss. However, when that relationship ends suddenly, Mimi retreats to the home of her father and his husband in the small Cotswold village of Goosebrook. She makes many friends there, and is particularly attracted to single dad Cal, but what with his family commitments and her career ambitions, things always seem to come between them. Mimi wonders if her feelings for Cal can ever be returned. 

I have thoroughly enjoyed this story; it is, in fact, one of my favourites from Jill Mansell. It is at once romantic, amusing and truly heart-warming. I loved Mimi and Cal, and their misguided attempts to be doing the right thing, all the time keeping them apart. They are both thoughtful and caring people; Cal’s relationship with his teenage daughter would be envied by many fathers. The story is, of course, filled with many other lovely characters, many of whom add a touch of comedy by their actions. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a romantic comedy; it is a hard one to put down.


To order your copy now, just click the link: UK or US

No comments:

Post a comment