Wednesday, 18 December 2019

Blog Tour: Review of The Girl Who Came Home to Cornwall by Emma Burstall


It's my stop on the blog tour for The Girl Who Came Home to Cornwall by Emma Burstall today. I have a review to share with you and if you like the sound of that, buy links and all the author info is at the bottom of this post. Please remember to stop by the other blogs on the tour for more exclusive content and reviews. Thanks to Emma for stopping by the blog today. 

Escape to the Cornish coast with a new heartwarming Tremarnock novel, perfect for fans of Jill Mansell and Philippa Ashley.
In the quaint Cornish village of Tremarnock, Chabela Penhallow arrives for a holiday and to discover more about her Cornish ancestors. But, as always with newcomers to the small seaside town, rumours start to fly about this beautiful stranger. Is there more to her than meets the eye?
Meanwhile, Rob and Liz Hart's marriage is on the rocks, but only one of them knows the real reason. Once the secret is out, will they be able to handle the repercussions or will it destroy their life together?
For the residents of Tremarnock, the revelations will either bond or break them – forever.

Review: This is the fifth book in a series about the Cornish village of Tremarnock. I have been following this series since the very beginning and was delighted to find that this latest story was being published in time for Christmas. Like many readers, I enjoy catching up with characters I have become familiar with in previous parts of a series. This story contains many such characters, with a few new additions for good measure. Although it is good to know the history of the people featured in the story and their relationships, the book can perfectly well be read as a stand-alone.


In this story, the arrival in the little seaside village of a flamboyantly dressed foreigner causes quite a stir as people guess at her motive for coming to the area and the gossip gets going. The lady in question is Chabela Penhallow Maldonado, a native of Mexico City who is simply curious about her Cornish ancestors and has made the long journey to find out more as she nurses a broken heart. She is befriended by Liz, a character who has appeared in the Tremarnock stories right from the start. Due to this friendship, readers are treated to an amazing trip to Mexico and a tour of many of its delights as Chabela returns home for a holiday along with her new friend. However, back in Cornwall, many relationships are put to the test, including Liz’s own marriage to restaurant owner Robert, while Chabela begins to think that she may have found love.

I very much enjoyed this latest story in the Tremarnock series. Lots of familiar characters and locations popped up; it was just like returning to a place you know well and have met the inhabitants before. Of the new introductions, Chabela obviously stands out. The differences in culture between her home in Mexico City and this quaint little Cornish village cause quite a bit of unease, both with the villagers and the readers. I found myself a little concerned as to the possible outcome and, at times, not sure how much I liked this Mexican visitor. What I was not prepared for in this book was the wonderful descriptions of locations in Mexico and the links between that country and Cornwall. Emma Burstall had obviously done lots of research there. I can heartily recommend this book to all, and in particular to fans of the Tremarnock series; if you haven’t read the previous four stories, no matter, but they are also well worth seeking out.


To order your copy now, just click the link: UK or US


About the author



Emma Burstall was a newspaper journalist in Devon and Cornwall before becoming a full time author. Tremarnock, the first novel in her series set in a delightful Cornish village, was published in 2015 and became a top-10 bestseller.
  
Follow Emma:   
Twitter: @EmmaBurstall
Facebook: @EmmaBurstallAuthor
Website: emmaburstall.com

Follow Head of Zeus:
Website: www.headofzeus.com
Twitter: @HoZ_Books
Facebook: @headofzeus
Instagram: @headofzeus

No comments:

Post a comment