Monday, 26 December 2016

Review: Searching for a Silver Lining by Miranda Dickinson



It began with a promise . . .
Matilda Bell is left heartbroken when she falls out with her beloved grandfather just before he dies. Haunted by regret, she makes a promise that will soon change everything . . .
When spirited former singing star Reenie Silver enters her life, Mattie seizes the opportunity to make amends. Together, Mattie and Reenie embark on an incredible journey that will find lost friends, uncover secrets from the glamorous 1950s and put right a sixty-year wrong.
Touchingly funny, warm and life-affirming, this is a sparkling story of second chances. Perfect for fans of Cecelia Ahern, Searching for a Silver Lining by Miranda Dickinson will take you on a trip you'll never forget.


Review: I love a Miranda Dickinson novel so I'm not sure why it took me to long to read this one! This book has 3 main storylines, all mingling amongst each other but I'd say that the three are very distinct. We have the story involving Mattie, Reenie and club owner Gill and their road trip to try and get the group The Silver Five back together for one very special performance. I would say that this was my favourite of the three storylines. The road trip takes in so many parts of the country and takes in some of my favourite places, including Barter Books, Beaconsfield Services and Soho! I really loved the situations they got themselves into and the travelling itself!

The other 2 storylines involve Mattie and her Grandad Joe. The novel begins with his funeral and we know straightaway that he and Mattie weren't talking when he died and so she feels like she needs to make it up to him. I wasn't as keen on this storyline, I'm not really sure why, perhaps I just didn't like how much of her life Mattie was dedicating to making it up to him, but the flashbacks to Grandad Joe's life ere very interesting and I liked them. The other storyline is, of course, a love story and what's not to like about that. I'm not going to go any further into that one because I don't want to give anything away!

In terms of the characters, I defy anyone not to love Reenie. She is a typical diva, but over 80 and living in a retirement community. I loved how bolshy she was and I loved her accent, it totally comes right off the page and whenever she is speaking or recalling something, you can hear this Cilla Black type matriarch right there in the room with you. Matilda, Mattie Bell is an interesting character. I didn't find myself warming to her quite as much. I think this again comes down to the fact that she lives her life so much in the past and dwells on things so much. I loved that she was so determined to help Reenie though and make things right for her, and I loved the relationship that she had with her sister, Jo and her cousin Jack. Gil, the club owner is another major character in the book and I liked him when he was in the club, doing his thing, but not as much when he was taken out of that setting and chatting to Mattie and Reenie.

Ultimately this is a story of hope and of second chances, but there are also some great insights into relationships of every kind, family, friends, lovers and enemies and I really liked that strong theme coming through. I always love a Miranda Dickinson book and, as with all her novels, you will leave this novel feeling heart warmed and having great faith in your fellow man!

To get your copy now, just click here.

No comments:

Post a comment