Saturday, 30 May 2020

Review: I Knew You Were Trouble by Paige Toon

Sunshine, rock gods, and Hollywood heartthrobs! Jessie Jefferson is back in the next installment from bestselling author Paige Toon—perfect for fans of Holly Smale's Geek Girl, the Jessica Cole series, and Zoe Sugg's Girl Online.


Life as the undercover daughter of a rock god isn't going to be easy. How will Jessie adjust to her old boring life again after spending her summer living it up with her dad in LA? With tough decisions ahead (and not just choosing between two hot boys), can she cope juggling her two very different lives? Summer may be over, but Jessie's story is just beginning…


Review: This is the second book in the young adult series from one of my favourite authors Paige Toon and let me tell you I am keeping my fingers crossed that she has another foray into the world of Young Adult romance again soon because I love this series so much. 
When you know you are dealing with the second book in a series you do sometimes worry that you are in for a bit of a slump in the action, that you are being set up from the culmination of the trilogy in book 3 but this really wasn't the case in this novel. This book has action from the very beginning to the very end. Jessie is up to as much in this book as we saw her get up to in book one only this time she is very definitely doing it across 2 continents. 

This book has also ramped up the romance, can you say love triangle? I loved this added intrigue because a love triangle in 2 different countries is a whole different kettle of fish, This triangle really explores the fact that Jessie's may be the daughter of a rich and famous rockstar but aside from having just lost her mum she is also dealing with first love and the confusion that that can bring. Jessie really does have to deal with a lot in this book she has all of that plus the possibility of singing and school work and a whole new family-wow there really is a lot in this book. 


Safe to say this book does not fall into the second book in a series trap. It has a definite story arc of its own, things really ramp up from Jessie and if you are here because you fell in love with Johnny Jefferson in Johnny and Meg’s stories then there is a decent dose of him too-I loved it and can’t wait to dive into book 3!
To order your copy now, just click the link: UK or US

No comments:

Post a comment