Monday, 11 May 2020

Blog Tour: Review of People Like Us By Louise Fein


Today is my stop on the blog tour for People Like Us by Louise Fein. I have a review to share with you today and if you like the sound of that you can click here to order People Like Us which is out now! Don't forget to check out the other stops on the tour for more exclusive content and reviews. 

Here's what it's all about...

Leipzig, 1930's Germany.
Hetty Heinrich is a perfect German child. Her father is an SS officer, her brother in the Luftwaffe, herself a member of the BDM. She believes resolutely in her country, and the man who runs it.
Until Walter changes everything. Blond-haired, blue-eyed, perfect in every way Walter. The boy who saved her life. A Jew.
Anti-semitism is growing by the day, and neighbours, friends and family members are turning on one another. As Hetty falls deeper in love with a man who is against all she has been taught, she begins to fight against her country, her family and herself. Hetty will risk have to risk everything to save Walter, even if it means sacrificing herself...
Perfect for fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz and The Book Thief.


Review: What an appropriate time for this book to be released, right on the 7th anniversary of VE day. The Tagline for this book compares it to the Book Theif which I definitely agree with but also, if you have seen the film Jojo Rabbit, some of the more serious parts of the movie the friendship between our lead and his Jewish stowaway, really reminds me of this book. 

I loved Hetty as a main character because I felt like I could really relate to her confusion with the world and her quest to do the right thing at the same time as trying to please herself. I feel sure that a lot of readers will relate to her and so with have an instant sympathy and empathy with her as I did. We have all faced hardships in our lives but none as big as the hardship of watching your friends and loved ones be driven out or worse in the horrors that were Nazi Germany. 

There are a lot of dark moments in this book but the dark moments are not what the book is purely about. This is very much  character driven book and we see the whole mixed up world through Hetty's eyes. I love her passion and her thirst for knowledge as well as her loyalty to her family and friends and that is really the heart of the book. There are definite moments which make you feel uncomfortable as a reader but rather than put me off reading, I was in awe of this writers ability to affect such emotion in me. 

Yes there are dark moments in this book and yes there is a lot of historical detail in this book but this is a coming of age novel with the best kind of Romeo and Juliet style of love story at its centre and I really did enjoy the pace and the heart of this book, I am sure you will too. 

About the Author


Louise Fein holds an MA in Creative Writing from St Mary’s University. Prior to studying for her master’s, she ran a commodity consultancy business following a career in banking and law. She lives in Surrey with her family. People Like Us is inspired by her family history, and by the alarming parallels she sees between the early 30s and today.

Follow Louise:
Facebook: @LouiseFeinAuthor
Twitter: @FeinLouise

Follow Head of Zeus

Twitter: @HoZ_Books
Facebook: @headofzeus
Instagram: @headofzeus


No comments:

Post a comment